From the 26th March 2018, Google Adwords will start deactivating accounts with no ad spend for the past 15 months in Adwords. Google will start doing this automatically in an attempt to speed up the Google Adwords experience.
What has Google Adwords announced?
Starting next week, we’re helping speed up your AdWords experience by automatically deactivating accounts that don’t have spend in the last 15 months. If you still need access to these accounts, you can reactivate them at any time in AdWords. Learn more: https://t.co/W6laVA4wsW
— Google AdWords (@adwords) March 20, 2018
Why is Adwords doing this?
Google says that they are doing this to speed up our Adwords experience. With the new Adwords interface giving us more insight than ever, I’d assume that it takes up a lot more juice ad is laboured by old accounts. By de-activating them, it tells Google to prioritise the accounts that matter most to you.
Word on the street is that the rollout of the new Adwords experience will be available to everyone in the first half of 2018. So this update helps to back up the rumour.
What does this mean for you?
You’ll receive a notification if you have been affected
When your account has been cancelled, you’ll receive an email notification from Google. You will also see an in-account notification letting you know that your account has been deactivated. So no excuses for not being in the know!
Don’t panic, you can always reactivate your cancelled account!
Just follow the below steps:
- Sign into your AdWords account.
- Click “Settings” and then click Account settings.
- On the “Preferences” tab, click ‘Reactivate this account’.
- You might also need to update your billing information if prompted by Google Adwords. If the account has been offline for so long it’s probably best practice to check this is up to date anyway.
Please note – for up to 24 hours after reactivating an account, you may continue to see an alert saying your account has been cancelled. This will eventually disappear.
If you reactivate your account and still don’t spend for 3 months, your account will become deactivated again
I can’t think of many cases where you would reactivate an old account for the purpose of not spending through it again so I don’t think that this will affect to many of you.
- OpenAI Leadership Change: Sam Altman Out, Mira Murati Interim CEO - November 17, 2023
- Why are Search Engines becoming more sociable? - October 17, 2023
- Microsoft Ads Performance Max aims to be more transparent - July 28, 2023